It should say in the domain form where it was sent from (when they send
you a verification that its been taken care of and sometimes. atleast
they used to. attach the origional form to the end).
Not too long ago I had someone from AOL accidently delete one of my
lesser used domains (was about to start using it again) thankfully it
wasn't my main one!! But it was fixed within a few days.. the DNS server
was changed.
** They need some form of verification, you shouldn't be able to change
other domains -- I used to think that they at least verified that the
person sending in the request was one of the contacts.
On Thu, 21 Dec 1995, Skeeve Stevens wrote:
> Im REEEAAALLLYYY ANGRY now!
>
> This just came to me from internic...
>
> Its obviously a form filled out via someone via the Internic Web pages
> to attempt to DELETE our domain.
>
> They obviously didnt realise that its not an automatic submission
> and is emailed to the address they enter at the top of the screen (me!)
>
>
> WHAT I WANT:
>
> * Mark Kosters (i think your name is): I would like your web server records,
> I know you read this list! (this has been cc: postmaster,hostmaster)
>
> * /var/adm/messages records (or other files) off internic with the details
> for the mail that was sent to me. (I havent received email from internic for
> a while so it should be easy to find)
>
> * Internic to add a header item telling the recipient which PPP machine or
> unix (with IDENT) the request came from.
>
>
> I have my suspicions it was a rival ISP here in sydney australia, if you need
> some domains to scan for in your LARGE (im sure they are) log files...
> please let me know ASAP
>
> I will be persuing this with the Australian Federal Police (FBI equiv).
>
>
> Included is the form with full header...
>
[domain form deleted]
-----
Stephen Fisher
Technical Engineer
Community Internet Access
Gallup, New Mexico
http://www.cia-g.com